Clarksburg ATV Helmet Laws
Helmet laws in West Virginia are age specific. If you are over 18, the law does not require you to wear a helmet. However, any driver or passenger under 18 must wear a helmet at all times while riding an ATV.
ATV Laws for People Over 18-Years-Old in Clarksburg
Most West Virginia ATV laws concerning adults have to do with when and where they drive an ATV, rather than whether or not they are licensed or wearing a helmet.
Although there are no helmet laws for those over 18, there are a few other laws implemented to ensure the safe ATV riding. The list below provides some of these regulations:
- Titles are required for all ATVs;
- ATVs may not be used on a highway or paved roads with a center line or more than 2 lanes with the exception of crossing and traveling from one trail or field to another, even then, ATVs can only travel less than 10 miles on the paved road and under 25 mph.
- ATVs may not be operated between sunset and sunrise without lighted headlights and taillights.
Clarksburg ATV Laws for People Under 18-Years-Old
There are specific regulations for ATV riders under the age of 18, these include:
- Any person under 18 must take a rider safety awareness course; and
- Any passenger or driver under 18 must wear a helmet at all times.
Why You Should Always Wear a Helmet While Riding an ATV
Regardless of your age, it is recommended that you wear a helmet whenever you operate an ATV. Out of all reported ATV related fatalities since 2005, an overwhelming 94% of those victims were not wearing a helmet at the time of their accident.
Legal Help for Clarksburg ATV Accident Victims
Recreation opportunities abound in West Virginia, but with ATV riding can lead to potentially serious or fatal accidents. If you have been harmed because of somebody else’s negligence, don’t hesitate to seek justice. The Miley Legal Group will work with you to fight for the compensation you deserve and help you to move on with your life. Contact us today for a FREE consultation – (304) 326-1800.