Harrison County Rollover Car Accident Lawyer
A rollover accident occurs when a vehicle tips onto its side or roof. This type of accident is capable of causing devastating injuries to both drivers and passengers. Fortunately, victims may be eligible for compensation if another party was responsible for causing the crash.
A Harrison County rollover car accident lawyer could help you hold the at-fault drivers accountable for their actions and fight for your interests. An experienced automobile collision attorney could provide advice and support at every step of a case.
Reporting Car Accidents in Harrison County
There are essential steps to take after getting in a car accident. According to West Virginia Code §17C-4-6, drivers must report accidents to law enforcement if anyone was injured or if damage of over $1000 occurred. Reporting an accident right away might also prove useful in a personal injury case if the police report lists the other driver at fault for the accident.
When the police arrive, they will interview all drivers, passengers, and witnesses of the accident for an account of what took place. Law enforcement typically has 24 hours to submit the finished report, though they are allowed up to 10 days if an investigation needs to take place.
The police report can service as critical evidence during a car accident case. A Harrison County rollover accident attorney could use this report and other evidence to advance a victims case for compensation.
Filing a Claim in Harrison County
When a driver is involved in a rollover car accident, they must file a claim before the statute of limitations is up. According to WV Code §55-2-12, drivers have two years to bring forth a claim. The same holds true even if the claim is against a government entity.
West Virginia personal injury case use a concept known as comparative negligence, meaning juries must consider the actions of every party involved. If a victim was somewhat responsible for causing the accident, they may have their total compensation reduced by their percentage of fault. A rollover car crash attorney in Harrison County could prepare for arguments of comparative negligence and work to meet all applicable deadlines.
Your Rights After Being in a Car Accident
After being involved in a rollover auto accident, victims have certain rights. In Harrison County, an injured person has the right to seek compensation for losses and injuries that were a direct result of the crash. This includes suing for medical expenses and non-economic damages.
However, if the defendant in the case is a government entity, there are limits to the total damages they can recover. First, punitive damages cannot be awarded when the case involves a government entity. Second, a plaintiff cannot request more than $500,000 in non-economic damages against the government, as stated in WV Code §29-12A-7. A Harrison County rollover car accident lawyer could help answer a victim’s questions and make them award of the various limitations that could affect a case.
Contact a Harrison County Rollover Car Crash Attorney
If you were hurt in a crash, you may have the legal right to pursue compensation for your losses. However, car crash litigation can be complex, and it requires considerable time and effort. For this reason, many victims choose to retain an attorney to handle the details of a case.
A dedicated Harrison County rollover car accident lawyer could help you navigate the claims process and protect your interests at every step. Call today to schedule a consultation.