Harrison County Personal Injury Lawyer
When a person is injured, many unforeseen difficulties may enter their daily lives. Not only does the person need to seek medical care, but some injuries may also necessitate time off of work. The time, expenses, and long-term harms can feel insurmountable.
Fortunately, a Harrison County personal injury lawyer may be able to provide injured people with valuable guidance and support. They could negotiate with the opposing attorneys, fight for a fair settlement or award, and navigate the often confusing legal system. If the actions or negligence of another person injured you or a loved one, contact an experienced personal injury attorney as soon as possible.
Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
One of the most important aspects of a personal injury case is its statute of limitations. This is the deadline by which a claim must be filed. If the claim is not filed within the appropriate time frame, the injured person may lose the ability to try their case in court and be awarded compensation from the at-fault party.
In West Virginia, the personal injury statute of limitations is two years from the date of the injury, according to West Virginia Code §55-2-12. However, some types of injury claims may have different deadlines, such as claims arising from medical malpractice or improperly maintained personal property. A skilled personal injury lawyer in Harrison County could help an injured person file their claim in time and retain the right to pursue the compensation they are due.
West Virginia uses a modified comparative negligence theory of fault to determine the amount of compensation awarded to the plaintiff. An injured person may sue for damages as long as they bear less than 50 percent of the fault for their injuries. If they do hold some of the blame, the total compensation available to them will be reduced by the same percentage as their fault.
For example, an injured person who is found to be 25 percent responsible for injuries that resulted in $100,000 worth of damages could recover a maximum of $75,000 from the defendant. By working with a Harrison County personal injury attorney, an individual may be able to reduce the amount of responsibility attributed to them, thereby increasing the amount of compensation they are able to pursue.
Speak to a Harrison County Personal Injury Attorney Today
In the event of a serious injury, victims and their families should have the ability to focus on healing rather than handling the stress of a lawsuit. A Harrison County personal injury lawyer may be able to help people in need by taking on many of the responsibilities in their legal claim.
If the negligence of someone else injured you or a family member, you should not have to foot the bill for the damages that you receive. Items like medical bills, lost wages, mental pain and anguish, inability to perform your job in the future, and more can be added to your total compensation. Talk to a compassionate personal injury lawyer today to begin assessing your options and working toward the compensation you and your family deserve.